These 25 players made Super Eagles squad for World Cup ahead of June 4 deadline

Rohr’s decision saw to the end of Moses Simon, Dele Ajiboye, Uche Agbo, Stephen Eze and Junior Lokosa’s dream of playing at the World Cup.

25 players made Super Eagles' World Cup squad after provisional list
Super Eagles boss Rohr names Mikel, Moses, Iwobi, 27 others for camp in 30-man pre-World Cup squad (Twitter)

  • Just 16 days to the 2018 World Cup, Super Eagles head coach, Gernot Rohr struck five players out of the 30-man provisional list.

  • Rohr’s decision ended the dreams of Moses Simon, Dele Ajiboye, Uche Agbo, Stephen Eze and Junior Lokosa’s in playing at the World Cup.

Super Eagles head coach, Gernot Rohr has trimmed down the 30-man squad provisional listahead of FIFA’s deadline of June 4, 2018, for the announcement of the 23-man squad representing Nigeria at the World Cup.

As the Super Eagles squad prepare for a friendly match with England on Saturday, June 2, 2018, in England, Rohr took his first step by striking out five players.

Rohr’s decision saw to the end of Moses Simon, Dele Ajiboye, Uche Agbo, Stephen Eze andJunior Lokosa’s dream of adorning the Nike designed jerseys for Super Eagles at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

2 more players to be dropped on Saturday, June 2

Despite the exit of five players from the previous 30-man squad, speculation over which players makes the final 23-man squad is still rife.

Hence, Rohr will still drop two more players on Saturday, June 2, 2018, after the Super Eagles face England in a friendly match at the Wembley stadium.

On June 6, 2018, Rohr would have trimmed down members of the 23-man squad to represent Nigeria when the Super Eagles engage the Czech national team in Austria on June 6, 2018, before heading to Russia.

The FIFA deadline is June 4

According to FIFA, a deadline of June 4, 2018, has been fixed for all national team coaches to finalise and announce the 23-man squad representing each country at the tournament.

Although many countries are choosing to announce their teams in advance, it is at the discretion of each national team coach as to whether they wish to reveal their plans before those dates or on June 4, 2018.

Already, Iceland, Croatia, and Argentina have announced the 23-man squad representing the respective countries at the World Cup against Nigeria in Group D.

Here’s a list of players that made the 25 man squad list


Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba, Nigeria), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa), Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain)


William Troost-Ekong (Bursaspor, Turkey), Leon Balogun (Brighton, England), Ola Aina (Chelsea, England), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea, England), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia), Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal), Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey), Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Tyronne Ebuehi (Benfica, Portugal)


John Mikel Obi (Tianjin Teja, China), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey), John Ogu (Hapoel Beer Sheba, Israel) Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Oghenekaro Etebo (Feirense, Portugal) Joel Obi (Torino, Italy), Mikel Agu (FC Porto, Portugal)


Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China), Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England), Victor Moses (Chelsea, England), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy)

2019 Election: ”Vote For Candidates Of Your Choice” President Buhari Tells Nigerians
[Video] B-Red – Tire


Leave a Reply